The Coming Tests, and Trials and Glory Elder Bruce R. McConkie April 1980

Elder Bruce R. McConkie

This talk was given 33 years ago.  It is to me, an amazing testimony of vision for things to come.  Now after 33 years we have the benefit of hindsight and it is undeniable that Elder McConkie was not prophetic in his declaration of the world we would live in today.  I do find it interesting that those that fight against the church and Christianity in general, fulfill prophecy as they fight.

The Coming Tests and Trials and Glory – Bruce R McConkie – April 1980 General Conference

About bestldsconferencetalks

I am a 39 yr old husband and father great kids. In November of 2009, I was going about my usual business, as a salesman that traveled in the car a lot listening to sports talk radio. Then the thought hit me, you know what this is an absolute waste of time. I could careless about this, in that moment for some reason sports seemed so meaningless. And I knew everything about it. I almost felt embarrassed. I thought is this how my wife feels when I am yelling at the TV while the Vikings are getting jobbed on a call? Is this what it feels like to actually grow up? Even though I had served a mission to Spain the depth of my understanding of the gospel was pretty shallow. So it seemed pretty obvious that I needed learn. I felt this sensation that I was far behind in my progession and had to make up for it. So, naturally my next thought was, I am going to die? To that question came another question, and what if you are? To that the answer was obvious I would know a lot about sports. So, I borrowed all the conference CD's that a friend of mine had been collecting since 2002. I remember distinctly the first time I put in a CD it was dark early in the morning on the way to the airport. I didn't try and organize the listening at first because I just wanted to hear a few talks. I remember thinking Mike and Mike are on and this is going to be torture listening to conference instead. So, I ramdomly picked April 2007 and gabbed the Priesthood session disk. I thought I will listen to a couple talks that I know. So the fist talk was a good talk by President Monson. Then came President Hinckley, the talk was titled "I am clean" I became enthralled in the talk. The tone and inflection in his voice. The emotion that echoed through the car as I drove down the road was amazing. As pulled into Park and Jet with tears streaming down my face, I was hooked. I couldn't believe that I had never heard that talk. I couldn't wait to listen to more. Within a matter of months I had listened to all the talks that my friend gave me and wanted to hear more. I went to the internet to get the talks older than 2002. To my amazement, they were nowhere to be found. I thought that the internet had everything. So I drove around again listening to sports talk radio for a week or two. Then one day I found myself in a DI, I can't even recall why. When low and behold I look up and sitting on the shelf are conference tapes from April 1979. I had no idea that these even existed. Over the next year and a half I found at the DI from Las Vegas to Brigham City every conference dating back t

2 responses to “The Coming Tests, and Trials and Glory Elder Bruce R. McConkie April 1980”

  1. Layne says :

    I love this talk from Elder Bruce R McConkie as it is even more relevant now than when he gave it 33 years ago. I love the honest straight talk. The gospel is simple and the principles are black and white. In a world of gray it is a blessing that we have living prophets and apostles that lead and guide us.

  2. bestldsconferencetalks says :

    This talk could never be given today. The wicked would go into a frenzy. The wicked scoff at being lead and guided down the path to immortality. The wicked view it as weak minded, cultish with the inability to think for ones self. When you talk to people you will recognize this condescension by the statement, “Well you were born into the church weren’t you?”. The rub is that to defer to a higher power is a sign of humility and strength. That higher power may be prayer, the Bible, Book of Mormon, the lords anointed, your bishop whatever. The truth cascades down and pride/weakness hide to from our eyes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 524 other followers

