Follow the Christ to Victory Elder Rector

Elder Hartman Rector Jr.

http://bestldsconferencetalks.files.wordpress.com/2011/11/following-christ-to-victory-hartman-rector-jr-april-1979-general-conference.mp3

 

I sit here in my office thinking about recent events and how they are shaping my soul.  I have been extremely fortunate in this life to have had great success mentors.  Yet here I sit.  As Jerry McGuire put it, “Cloaked in failure”.  I have been completely ostracized by 2 different companies from different industries in the last 2 years.  I have had a number of friends disappear into the vast skyline of corporate success and personal wealth without as much as look back.  The other night in family prayer my 6 year son asked our father in heaven to help his dad to get a job and not be sick anymore.  After the prayer he asked me, “Dad, why can’t you find a job?”

Then last week my wife and I were fortunate enough to be able to go and spend a few days at a Royalty and Romance seminar in Midway.  Because of our financial position we stayed the night with our in Coalville.  the seminar was a great opportunity to step back and learn about concepts and interpretations that emanate from the fountain of truth.  During the first day a detailed list of 38 common attributes of “Successful People” was presented, and then on the other side of the ledger the antithesis of these 38 attributes for “Unsuccessful People”.  I go over the list on both sides and immediately I feel a disconnect.  I feel that I have or am striving for the successful characteristics yet the world has given me feedback that would have me believe that I am less than successful.  As I scan the characteristics of  the unsuccessful, I immediately realize that to me these are much more common characteristics of the business world and corporate philosophy.  I know many a corporate ladder success that practices these self serving practices and is rewarded in their career endeavors.  These rewards are now viewed as positive feedback in their yardstick of success.

Knowing that this can not be an across the board approach, that there are always exceptions to the rule, I decided that this was probably a scenario in which I was taking a too literal approach.  The director of the discussion then said to define success as, “Can see IT happening”.  The opposite would be that unsuccessful people, “Can’t see IT happening.”  With this new light shed on the definition of success, I view my ingrained definition of success as a result.  Now I realized that no judgement in this life is pure, that success is a state of mind and may yield monetary benefits but also may not.  The real benefits to be taken from living a successful life are in your development of your soul before God in your intelligence, character and relationships.  These are the “treasures to be laid in heaven in which moth and dust doth not corrupt.”  The only real definition of success that exists, thus the saying that,”you can’t take it with you”.  Actually you can take IT with you, if you first see IT happening.  Then understand that the IT is really you.  I crossed out the word successful on the handout and wrote behavior characteristics of Enlightened people or servants of the Lord.

The disconnect now connected, today with this still fresh in my mind I listened to this beautiful talk given by Elder Rector Jr. and couldn’t help but think about the correlation between my thoughts last week and his amazing inspired direction, imploring us to follow the most successful person to ever live on this earth.  A man with meager earthly possessions as his reward and feedback from the world.  I am sure that it broke his heart to endure the betrayal and treachery that this life  had to offer, but he overcame the world.  The thing is he had to see IT before he could do IT.  I hope you listen to the talk and love it like I do.

About bestldsconferencetalks

I am a 39 yr old husband and father great kids. In November of 2009, I was going about my usual business, as a salesman that traveled in the car a lot listening to sports talk radio. Then the thought hit me, you know what this is an absolute waste of time. I could careless about this, in that moment for some reason sports seemed so meaningless. And I knew everything about it. I almost felt embarrassed. I thought is this how my wife feels when I am yelling at the TV while the Vikings are getting jobbed on a call? Is this what it feels like to actually grow up? Even though I had served a mission to Spain the depth of my understanding of the gospel was pretty shallow. So it seemed pretty obvious that I needed learn. I felt this sensation that I was far behind in my progession and had to make up for it. So, naturally my next thought was, I am going to die? To that question came another question, and what if you are? To that the answer was obvious I would know a lot about sports. So, I borrowed all the conference CD's that a friend of mine had been collecting since 2002. I remember distinctly the first time I put in a CD it was dark early in the morning on the way to the airport. I didn't try and organize the listening at first because I just wanted to hear a few talks. I remember thinking Mike and Mike are on and this is going to be torture listening to conference instead. So, I ramdomly picked April 2007 and gabbed the Priesthood session disk. I thought I will listen to a couple talks that I know. So the fist talk was a good talk by President Monson. Then came President Hinckley, the talk was titled "I am clean" I became enthralled in the talk. The tone and inflection in his voice. The emotion that echoed through the car as I drove down the road was amazing. As pulled into Park and Jet with tears streaming down my face, I was hooked. I couldn't believe that I had never heard that talk. I couldn't wait to listen to more. Within a matter of months I had listened to all the talks that my friend gave me and wanted to hear more. I went to the internet to get the talks older than 2002. To my amazement, they were nowhere to be found. I thought that the internet had everything. So I drove around again listening to sports talk radio for a week or two. Then one day I found myself in a DI, I can't even recall why. When low and behold I look up and sitting on the shelf are conference tapes from April 1979. I had no idea that these even existed. Over the next year and a half I found at the DI from Las Vegas to Brigham City every conference dating back t

One response to “Follow the Christ to Victory Elder Rector”

  1. jaredean says :

    wow, i love your site and often listen to the talks you post and this last post compelled me to stop and comment before moving on with the rest of my day…i feel your pain through your prose and know that at my darkest moments it feels like nothing will be right again and once i turn and look back at those moments through the clarity of history i recognize that my faith and prayers were the key’s to bringing me out of desolation and despair…I wish you all the luck in the world my friend, but it isn’t luck that will help you – it sounds like you know where your morning will come from…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 524 other followers

