Remember How Merciful the Lord Hath Been Elder Neal A. Maxwell April 2004

Remember How Merciful the Lord Hath Been Elder Neal A. Maxwell April 2004

As we come upon Thanksgiving, it is a great time of reflection with a heart of gratitude. This talk given by Elder Maxwell in April of 2004 would be his last talk ever given in General Conference. He would pass away in July of Leukemia which he battled for 8 years. Elder Maxwell gave in his time as an apostle of the Lord a number of inspired magnificent talks, but this particular talk to me has a much different feel. This entire week for me is going to be one where the emotions are close to the surface, and my heart full of gratitude for the mercies the Lord has bestowed upon me. I am indeed blessed beyond measure, and have witnessed the opening of the windows of heaven. Happy Thanksgiving

About bestldsconferencetalks

I am a 39 yr old husband and father great kids. In November of 2009, I was going about my usual business, as a salesman that traveled in the car and listening to sports talk radio. Then the thought hit me, you know what this is an absolute waste of time. I could careless about this, in that moment for some reason sports seemed so meaningless. I thought I am so schooled in what is going on in sports to the point that, I almost felt embarrassed. I thought is this how my wife feels when I am yelling at the TV while the Vikings are getting jobbed on a call? Is this what it feels like to actually grow up? Even though I had served a mission to Spain the depth of my understanding of the gospel was pretty shallow. So it seemed pretty obvious that I needed learn. I felt this sensation that I was far behind in my progession and had to make up for it. So, naturally my next thought was, I am going to die soon? To that question came another question, and what if you are? To that the answer was obvious I would know a lot about sports and not much about what was really important in this life. So, I borrowed all the conference CD's that a friend of mine had been collecting since 2002. I remember distinctly the first time I put in a CD it was dark early in the morning on the way to the airport. I didn't try and organize the listening at first because I just wanted to hear a few talks. I remember thinking Mike and Mike are on and this is going to be torture listening to conference instead. So, I ramdomly picked April 2007 and gabbed the Priesthood session disk. I thought I will listen to a couple talks that I know. So the fist talk was a good talk by President Monson. Then came President Hinckley, the talk was titled "I am clean" I became enthralled in the talk. The tone and inflection in his voice. The emotion that echoed through the car as I drove down the road was amazing. As pulled into Park and Jet with tears streaming down my face, I was hooked. I couldn't believe that I had never heard that talk. I couldn't wait to listen to more. Within a matter of months I had listened to all the talks that my friend gave me and wanted to hear more. I went to the internet to get the talks older than 2002. To my amazement, they were nowhere to be found. I thought that the internet had everything. So I drove around again listening to sports talk radio for a week or two. Then one day I found myself in a DI, I can't even recall why. When low and behold I look up and sitting on the shelf are conference tapes from April 1979. I had no idea that these even existed. Over the next year and a half I found at the DI from Las Vegas to Brigham City every conference dating back t

One response to “Remember How Merciful the Lord Hath Been Elder Neal A. Maxwell April 2004”

  1. Hedwig Sulyma says :

    Appreciate it for helping out, excellent info .

Leave a comment